Getting the right widget configuration may take some time. Sometimes, you might not want to continue to use a widget or at least are unsure of when you may need it the next time. For these cases, you dont have to delete the widget but rather drag the widget to the Inactive Widgets area. You will be able to find the inactive widgets area at the bottom of the widgets page.
Doing so will keep the settings for the widgets intact, making it possible to come back after some time and use the same widget again without having to set it up all over again.